Cheap Eats: Blk 16 Bedok South

Add: 16 Bedok South Rd

My childhood was filled with Sundays tagging along with mum and dad, wandering through the labyrinth of Bedok South’s wet market at Blk 16. I remembered trailing behind the blue caged market trolley of mum’s, peering into ice boxes filled with fish and watching in horror as the moustache man in rubber boots slaughtered dozens of chickens in the middle of the morning frenzy. This was where I learnt the art of aunty-style bargaining and the importance of forming alliances with fishmongers, butchers and  vegetable sellers for the freshest produce and guaranteed first pickings of the ‘good stuff’ each morning. I much prefer the fishy, slippery wet markets over our sanitized supermarkets, anytime.

Besides the wet market, Blk 16 is also famous for its hawker center. It is definitely one of my favourite in Singapore . Instead of channeling my visitors from abroad to Newton (seriously..), Satay by the Bay (eh.) or Gluttons by the Bay (hell no),  I conduct my version of Local Food 101 initiation classes at this friendly eastern neighbourhood.

Here are a few stores that I frequently patronize.

Hua Kee Pancake 華记麺煎粿 #01-38

image.jpeg

Wait for those freshly made. Eat it immediately. So good (and only 60 cents/pc).  One of my favourite pastimes at the market, watching the elderly couple go about cooking the pancake in their huge cast iron pan, sprinkling heaploads of crushed peanuts +sugar and slicing them afterwards.. There is the coconut version too.

Hill St Fried Kway Teow 禧街炒粿条 #01-41

image

The queue snaked around me while I was snapping this

The main draw of the hawker center. Just check out the queue. Nuff said.

Kun Ji Kway Chap 坤记 #01-35

image.jpeg

Glorious

Dad swears by this kway chap. He is always going on about how those supposedly ‘famous’ ones (Siglap, Chris, Blanco Court) are totally overrated. And he is right (for once). The meat + innards are stewed to perfection here and is truly melt-in-your-mouth good. The serving portions are huge too. I paid $8.50 for 2 portions of kway chap + 1 bowl of kway.

Original Changi Ten Mile Fried Carrot Cake #01-32

image.jpeg

It don’t matter if you’re black or white…

The hawkers will point you to this store when being asked for a a char kway store within the center. Not too bad. I prefer the white version. $3-$4

So there you go! My favourite haunts at Blk 16 Bedok South. There are a couple of others that are worth a mention too. Next time perhaps.

Leave a Reply

