The Fish and Chip Shop

  • IMG_6421Add: 206 East Coast Road, Singapore 428905 (Beside Chin Mei Chin)
  • Tel: 65742047
  • Opening hours: 1130am-130pm, 530pm-9pm (Tue – Sun)
  • Great for: UK style fish and chips

My morning bus ride to work every day brings me through one of my favourite streets in Singapore – East Coast Road (the Joo Chiat end) where I get to peer out of the windows and check out all the new eateries moving into the neighbourhood.

About a month ago, something flashy caught my eye. Done up in bright yellow and sea blue, the shophouse just beside the nostalgic east side favourite(Chin Mei Chin Confectionery) threw its door open for business. I must say it was rather odd to see a Fish and Chips store right smack in a district that prides itself with traditional Asian influenced cuisine (think Katong Laksa, House of Peranakan, CMC, Mei Yuen Wanton Noodles..).

IMG_6418

I finally got down to visiting it today and bought myself their classic Cod & Chips for $17. I love that it was served in a little cardboard tray, engulfed within a huge piece of greaseproof paper (I would have preferred it wrapped in Newspapers just like how they do it in OZ and the UK though. but I don’t think that will go down well with germophobic Singaporeans here). $17 might seem a little pricey at first glance but I guess the portions did justify the price. Good-sized piece of fish drizzled with malt vinegar and served with a generous heap of triple-cooked (parboiled + double fried) homemade chips. Mushy peas are available for $2.50/serving too. Very British.

IMG_6417

I like how the The Fish and Chip Shop (i know, not very creative) went back to basics by creating an eatery with just simple cooking facilities & decor. There are only 2 tables flanking the narrow sides of the shop. The whole ‘beach’ theme also makes you feel that you’re on a seaside vacation. Pretty magical….and totally out-of-place in Joo Chiat.

Do pop by. It is manned by friendly staff and boss (David Cran) + serves piping hot cod & chips with a good dose of rich tartare sauce. Simple British Food executed well!

IMG_6413

Leave a Reply

