Kway Chap(s)

  • Blanco Court Kway Chap/19 Old Airport Rd/Old Airport Rd Food Centre #01-136
  • Chris Kway Chap/216 Bedok North St 1 #01-80
  • Siglap Kway Chap/727 East Coast Rd

I was first introduced to this extraterrestrial dish when I accompanied dad to our neighbourhood coffee shop by the canal for breakfast during the school holidays (which was geez, eons ago). It was dubious looking and I am pretty sure I didn’t quite understand what part of the animal it came from at that time, but heck, it sure was good.

Dad was my partner-in-crime whenever we had cravings for kway chap. We would have to lie to the Queen that we were going out for a wholesome bowl of noodles when we were in fact heading straight to the Siglap Kway Chap store for our dose of braised pork innards and silky kways. Mum kinda figured that out when she found herself being left at home alot when we headed out for our coffeeshop breakfast and nagged us to death about the insane amount of cholesterol we were ingesting every time we ate that. Woops!

Valeebelly5I have new ‘partners in crime’ now and have made a forage into the kway chap scene beyond Siglap. Over the past few months, I visited the reknowned Blanco Court Kway Chap located at Old Airport Road Food Center and Chris Kway Chap at Bedok.

Chris Kway Chap and Blanco Court Kway Chap are the famous stalls South-Easterners head to. In my opinion though, I would prefer Blanco Court’s over Chris’s as I found the braise sauce in the latter a little too overpowering.  At Blanco Court’s, the big intestines (大肠) and  belly were braised to perfection and the sauce did not overshadow the porcine main-show.

I will always have a soft spot for Siglap Kway Chap since I have had so much memories there. It is also the only one (out of the 3) which doesn’t involve any form of queuing. That however, does not mean the standards there are any lousier.

The prices are all pretty similar. Be prepared to pay an average of $5/pax for it.

My favourite ‘part’ is the big intestines (大肠). Whats yours?

p.s please consume in moderation.

Leave a Reply

