Saveur @ Purvis St

  • Add: 5 Purvis St #01-04
  • Opens: 12pm-230pm, 6pm-930pm
  • Phone: +65 6333 3121 (no reservations, only walk-in)
  • Website: http://www.saveur.sg/

Feeling really broke from frequent dine-out sessions recently, Saveur gave my weary pockets a well-deserved respite. Priding itself in ‘affordable French cuisine’, it has recently moved from a nondescript coffee shop in Katong to a shophouse at Purvis St and after reading many reviews of it online and on Weekend Life!, I was glad to have finally made it down on Labour Day with THE cousins+1.

Saveur tested my patience. Even after a meticulous effort of finding out their opening hours and making my way down at noon to be first in line (or so I thought), I found myself staring at a full house and a snaking queue just 15 minutes past their opening time. Totally forgot I was dealing with my beloved kiasu countrymen. Well, we made it in after 80 min of queuing *grumbles* and I marched through the entrance with a new found respect of my recently cultivated patience. I have NEVER in my life queued for anything that requires me to stand in line for more than 15 minutes (save theme park rides 🙂

We were of course famished by then and proceeded to order half of whats on the menu. No, not exaggerating at all! The jaw-dropping prices for such sophisticated sounding mod-French dishes also played a part too I guess.  Here’s the entire list.

Mesclun Salad With Lemon Vinaigrette And Crispy Duck: Proportion was a little measly but it did not disappoint in the taste department. Duck was really nicely done!

Pan Fried Foie Gras With Lentil And Pickled Onion 35g: I am not a big fan of foie gras and try as I could, I was not able to snap a decent shot of this. Its definitely one of the cheapest way to get a taste of foie gras though.

Confit Of Duck With Orange Segment And Sauté Shittake: The only gripe I had about this dish was that the duck skin wasn’t done well enough. Still kinda chewy. Tangy mandarin orange slices with the mashed potato and shitake mushrooms was a great combi (as strange as it sounds). Sadly, De Bortelli set such a high standard in terms of THE duck confit that I might not find another one just like it ever again..

Crispy Pork Belly With 62.5degree Egg With Diced Vegetable: Nicely roasted crispy pork belly. Love the crackly skin! Eggs and lentils combi was interesting too.

Chicken Roulade With Foie Gras Stuffing And Basmati Rice: basmati rice was a disappointment. Foie gras was, unidentifiable. “Where ah?” (not that i really care). Overall, the least promising dish. I recommend you skip this and try some other main courses instead.

Angel Hair Pasta With Sherry Minced Pork And Sakura Ebi: $3.90. Nuff’ said.

Angel Hair Pasta With Tiger Prawn And Lumpfish Caviar: I really like the blend of flavours for their dry pasta. In my opinion, their pastas are one of the best and most value-for-money dishes in the restaurant. All less than $8 and definitely enough to feed a grown man.

Unidentified Desert: Seems to have been taken off the menu. Such a pity because it was really good!

Pistachio Panna Cotta With Roasted Pistachio Nut: I am a 开心果 fan, so this desert worked really well for me. Creamy smooth Panna Cotta heaped with loads of Roasted Pistachio Nuts. Heaven.

$80 (including 4 cans of drinks) for the above dishes. Filled 4 of our tummies  @ $20/pax. Not a bad dining experience I must say. Service staff were a little snobbish though and let’s just hope they don’t raise the prices anytime soon. And oh, just a cheat code, if you want to skip the queue, pop by for a late lunch (130-230pm), that is when the queue subsides.

Leave a Reply

